I Love Money – Season 2 Recap

Okay, let’s try this again. When you look back at VH1’s Celebreality era, the first thing you’re going to ask yourself is “How did we let this even happen?”

When it’s been a good VH1 reality show, it’s pretty enjoyable. But when it’s a bad VH1 reality show, it’s  REALLY, REALLY BAD. I’ve tried to avoid so many of those as possible, but I’m also not a guy that passes up the easiest target. Thus, when I first talked about the first season of I Love Money, it was very easy for me to lose my temper. This not only tested my tolerance with the VH1’s formula, but it also called into question the fairness of reality television in general. It was like this show was solely designed to allow the advancement of the worst in humanity.  By the time you finished the season, you wasted so much of your time to the point that you feel dumber. And my initial opinions on season 1 didn’t change in the slightest when I did a full recap on it for VH1 Month. However, I felt bad for my criticisms, because I wanted to root for this. I assumed it would do for VH1 what The Challenge did for MTV, not allow VH1 to give any inspiration to The Challenge for future concepts. Though you’re unlikely to find my individual episode recaps from Blogspot (if you do, good luck), I do remember what I said at the end of the season 1 finale recap that if they were to do a second season, my only hope was that they would do at least something different to avoid mental trauma for viewers. Well, lo and behold, I Love Money 2 premiered in early 2009. So the moment of truth came. Did they take my advice from 9 years ago? Considering the fact that it’s another VH1 reality show produced by those hacks at 51 Minds, I doubted it. But at the same time, after you hit rock bottom, the only way to go is up. So against my better judgement, I took a look at this second season to find out for myself.

On episode 4, the remaining contestants take part in The Kiss-Off 2. The Green team pairs are Milf/Buddha,…

Milf: “I don’t speak Harvey Weinstein!”

…Buckwild/Ice, and Myammee/T-Weed.

Myammee: “I don’t speak Roy Moore!”

The Gold team pairs are 20 Pack/Entertainer, Tailor Made/Saaphyri,…

Saaphyri: “I don’t speak Louis CK!”

…Prancer/Frenchie, and Heat/It.

Heat: “I don’t speak Kevin Spacey!” A lot of rapists have been exposed so far in 2017.

However, the twist is that it will be lip-to-cheek instead of lip-to-lip. So each pair will have one person put on lipstick, while the other puts on a g-string.

In other words, it’s ass-kissing time!

Milf and Buckwild successfully throw the challenge, and the Gold Team ends up winning again.

20 Pack then asks us, “Is the original Gold Team alliance squashed?” No, it isn’t. But they’re about to lose their control over the house, as Tailor Made, Ice, Myammee, and Bones form a counter-alliance.

The funny thing about it all is that once Tailor Made takes control of the game, the season actually gets better.

And that was I Love Money 2! Does it hold up? Even better question: does it improve over season 1?

The answer is both a no and a yes.

It is the better I Love Money season. However, it’s like saying it’s a better turd. At the end of the day, it’s still a turd, no matter how many times you try to polish it. Though if you have the right products to use on it, you can at least sculpt it into an interesting shape or even eliminate the bad odor.

Leave a comment